Jürg Frey

Posted on April 19, 2010

Jürg Frey was born in 1953 in Aarau, Switzerland. Following his musical education at the Concervatoire de Musique de Genève, he turned to a career as a clarinetist, but his activities as composer soon came to the foreground. Frey developed his own language as a composer and sound artist with the creation of wide, quiet sound spaces. His work is marked by an elementary non-extravagence of sound, a sensibilty for the qualities of the material, and precision of compositional approach. His compositions sometimes bypass instrumentation and duration altogether and touch on aspects of sound art. He has worked with compositional series, as well as with language and text. Some of these activities appear in small editions or as artist’s books as individual items and small editions (Edition Howeg, Zurich; weiss kunstbewegung, Berlin; complice, Berlin). His music and recordings are published by Edition Wandelweiser. Frey has been invited to workshops as visiting composer and for composer portraits at the Universität der Künste Berlin, the Universität Dortmund and several times at Northwestern University and CalArts. Some of the other places his work has developed are the concerts at the Kunstraum Düsseldorf, the Wandelweiser-in-Residence-Veranstaltungen in Vienna, the Ny music concerts in Boras (Sweden), the cooperation with Cologne pianist John McAlpine, the Bozzini Quartet (Montréal), QO-2 (Bruxelles), Die Maulwerker, incidental music, as well as the regular stays in Berlin (where during the last years many of his compositions were premiered). Frey is a member of the Wandelweiser Komponisten Ensemble which has presented concerts for more than 15 years in Europe, North America and Japan. Frey also organizes the concert series moments musicaux aarau as a forum for contemporary music.


Stephen Altoft: The Yasser Collection  (Microtonal Trumpet, 2011)

Craig Shepard: On Foot (Edition Wandelweiser, 2011)

Jürg Frey & Nick Hennies: Metal, Stone, Skin, Foliage, Air (L’innomable, 2011)

Radu Malfatti & Keith Rowe: Φ (Erstwhile, 2011)

Manfred Werder: Stück 199- Seiten 624-626 (Skiti, 2011)

Radu Malfatti: Himmelgeister 19 (B-Boim, 2010)

Jürg Frey: Weites Land, tiefe Zeit: Raüme 1-8  (B-Boim, 2010)

Dante Boon: cage.frey.vriezen.feldman.ayres.johnson    manion (Edition Wandelweiser, 2010)

Antoine Beuger:  two . too (for Erwin-Josef Speckmann) (Edition Wandelweiser, 2009)

Jürg Frey:  22 Sächelchen (Edition Wandelweiser, 2009)

Jürg Frey: Landschaft mit Wörtern (B-Boim, 2009)

Jürg Frey: L’âume Est Sans Retenue III (B-Boim, 2008)

Radu Malfatti: Düsseldorf Vielfaches (B-Boim, 2008)

Radu Malfatti: Friedrichshof Quartett (B-Boim, 2008)

Radu Malfatti: Nonostante III (B-Boim, 2007)

Jürg Frey, Radu Malfatti, Michael Pisaro: Three Backgrounds (B-Boim, 2007)

Jürg Frey: String Quartets (Edition Wandelweiser, 2006)

Burkhard Schlothauer: ChamberEvents (Edition Wandelweiser, 2005)

Antoine Beuger/ John Cage: Dialogues (silences)/ Music For One (Edition Wandelweiser,2004)

Jürg Frey: Klavierwerke 1978 – 2001 (Edition Wandelweiser, 2002)

Jürg Frey/ Luigi Nono: Ohne Titel (2 violinen) / “hay que caminar” sognando (Edition Wandelweiser, 2001)

Alfred Zimmerlin: Kammermusik (Edition Wandelweiser, 1998)

Christian Wolff: Stones (Edition Wandelweiser, 1996)

Jürg Frey: Music by Wolff, Lucier, Schlothauer and Frey (Edition Wandelweiser, 1996)

Edwin Alexander Buchholz: Cage. Pisaro.Frey.Beuger  (Edition Wandelweiser, 1996)


Posted in: Artists